[Call for Papers] HICSS 47(2014) – Digital and Social Media Track

Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences (HICSS)
Minitracks: Social Networking & Community | Social Media & Learning,
Location: Big Island, Hawaii, USA
When: January 6-9, 2014
Papers Due: June 15, 2013

Call for Papers

Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences

HICSS 47, January 6-9, 2014, Hilton Waikoloa, Big Island, Hawaii

Papers due June 15, 2013 to the HICSS site.

For details on paper submission see the HICSS 47 site.

HICSS conferences are devoted to the most relevant advances in the information, computer, and system sciences, and encompass developments in both theory and practice. Accepted papers may be theoretical, conceptual, tutorial or descriptive in nature. Those selected for presentation will be included in the Conference Proceedings published by the
IEEE Computer Society and maintained in the IEEE Digital Library.
How to Submit a Paper: Follow Author Instructions to be posted by February 1, 2013 on the conference web site.
http://www.hicss.hawaii.edu/hicss_47/apahome47.htm
• HICSS papers must contain original material. They may not have been previously published, nor currently submitted elsewhere. All submissions undergo a double-blind peer review process; so initial submission must be without author names.
• Abstracts are optional, but strongly recommended. You may contact the Minitrack Chair(s) for guidance or verification of content.
• Submit a paper to only one Minitrack. If a paper is submitted to more than one minitrack, then either paper may be rejected by either minitrack without consultation with author or other chairs. If you are not sure of the appropriate Minitrack, submit an abstract to the Track Chair(s) – see names and contact information below.
for determination, and/or seek informal opinion(s) of Minitrack Chair(s) before submitting.
• Do not author or co-author more than 5 papers. This means that an individual may be listed as author or co-author on no more than 5 submitted papers. Track Chairs must approve any names added after submission or acceptance on August 15.

Social Networking and Community, minitrack organized by Karine Nahon and Caroline Haythornthwaite in the Digital and Social Media Track.

  • Ongoing since 2003 ( under various names), and moved to the newly formedDigital and Social Media track, this minitrack calls for papers that address the interrelationship between the Internet and social media and communities.We call for papers that address issues of online crowds and communities of practice, inquiry and interest created in the interest of political, educational, business, social and/or gaming pursuits, and with attention to how online community building and management contribute to success in these endeavors. Papers are welcomed that address wholly online communities, as well as those that address the interplay between online and offline means of interaction; the use of single media, as well as those that address the way different media support community practice; and community, as well as crowd-based collectives online.

Social Media & Learning, minitrack organized by Maarten de Laat, Caroline Haythornthwaite, Shane Dawson & Dan Suthers in the Digital and Social Media Track.

  • Now in its 3rd year (formerly called ‘Learning Analytics and Networked Learning’), renamed and moved to the newly formed Digital and Social Media track, this minitrack calls for papers that address leading edge use of technology, research methods and system design to analyze and support learning in social networks. The ability to generate and maintain rich networked connections through social media, social networking, crowdsourcing, cloud technology, and social computing has a profound impact on the way we solve problems, learn, innovate and develop our identities, and the value this creates for individuals and groups. This minitrack will bring together state of the art research that furthers social theories of networking and learning, such as networked learning, collaborative learning, viral learning, and social capital, in combination with for example social and learning analytics and social network analysis to help visualize, develop and facilitate formal, non-formal and informal networking and learning settings

HICSS-47 TRACK CHAIRS

Digital and Social Media
Kevin Crowston crowston@syr.edu
Karine Nahon karineb@uw.edu

Collaboration Systems and Technology
Bob Briggs rbriggs@mail.sdsu.edu
Jay Nunamaker nunamaker@cmi.arizona.edu
Decision Analytics, Mobile Services, and
Service Science
Christer Carlsson christer.carlsson@abo.fi
Haluk Demirkan Haluk.Demirkan@asu.edu
E-Government
Jochen Scholl jscholl@u.washington.edu
Electric Energy Systems
Bob Thomas rjt1@cornell.edu
Tom Overbye overbye@uiuc.edu
Information Technology in Healthcare
William Chismar chismar@hawaii.edu
Tom Horan tom.horan@cgu.edu
Internet and the Digital Economy
Dave King David.king@jda.com
Alan Dennis ardennis@indiana.edu
Knowledge Systems
Murray Jennex murphjen@aol.com
Dave Croasdell davec@unr.edu
Organizational Systems and Technology
Hugh Watson hwatson@terry.uga.edu
Software Technology
Gul Agha agha@cs.uiuc.edu
Rick Kazman kazman@hawaii.edu